Preparing the NSF annual report

Workshop Summary

This 90-minute workshop is offered by Dr. Karen Mabry, an HSI faculty member. Dr. Mabry will bring her experience as an NSF Program Officer who has been tasked with reviewing annual reports. The session will include an overview of the annual report content followed by a Q&A where workshop attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions about report preparation. A breakout session will allow attendees to network and share project information with other HSI awardees.

Learn about the whole fall series here

Goals of the Workshop

  1. Learn how to submit the annual report for a National Science Foundation award.
  2. Learn what information you will need to provide to complete the annual report.
  3. Get answers to frequently asked questions about the annual report process, including due dates, submission, and report approval.


Enrollment is free and is limited to 20 participants per workshop.

Priority is given to current HSI faculty and staff who are interested in learning more about the NSF annual report process. Admission priority is given to faculty within the first 10 years of their first academic tenure-track appointment. Applicants should be aware that the selection process strives for diverse geographical and institutional representation.  The selection decision is final and summary reviews are not provided.

Apply Here

 Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this workshop, attendees will understand how:

  1. To navigate to submit an annual report for an NSF award.
  2. To provide complete, yet concise, information on annual reports.
  3. To proactively avoid common issues that delay report approval. 

Workshop Details

  • Workshop Description

    This workshop will provide faculty with an introduction to submitting annual reports for NSF awards and will include plenty of time for questions from attendees.

  • Workshop Dates:

    November 4, 2022

    9-11 AM PST

  • Who should attend?

    NSF HSI Awardees who are preparing an annual or final report in the next year and have questions about the process and content.

  • Cost

    The workshop is free to all attendees

  • Flyer

Workshop Speakers

Dr. Karen Mabry, Associate Professor of Biology, New Mexico State University.

Dr. Karen Mabry, Associate Professor of Biology, New Mexico State University.

Karen Mabry earned her Ph.D. in Animal Behavior from the University of California, Davis. Her research program at NMSU focuses on the behavior and ecology of animals in environments that vary across space and time; much of this work has been supported by NSF awards. From 2017-2020, she was a Program Officer in the Directorate for Biological Sciences at the National Science Foundation, where she managed the merit review process for the Animal Behavior Program and interacted with researchers concerning all aspects of proposal submission and review.

Workshop Sponsors and External Links

Logo - National Science FoundationLogo - HSI Stem HubLogo - NM State University - Crimson and White

Workshop Attendees

November 4, 2022

  • Jeyoung Woo – Assistant Professor, Cal Poly Pomona
  • Yunfei Hou – Associate Professor, Cal State San Bernardino
  • Monika Neda – Professor and Interim Associate Dean for Research, University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • Eliza Morris – Assistant Professor, California State University, Sacramento
  • Carol Umanzor – Agent of Change Specialist, San Francisco State University
  • Tammy Castro Professor of Biology Bloomfield College
  • Sarah Hoiland – Associate Professor of Sociology, Hostos Community College, City University of New York
  • Matthew Van Duzor – Associate Professor of Chemistry, North Park University
  • Dimah Dera – Assistant Professor of Biology, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Celia Jenkins – Director of Grants Management, Cochise College
  • Taffeta Elliott – Associate Professor, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
  • Melanie Bauer – Grant Writing Manager, Nova Southeastern University
  • Diana Torres-Velasquez – Associate Professor, University of New Mexico
  • Elizabeth Dvorsky – Professor/PI, UPR Rio Piedras

October 15, 2021

  • Sudarshan Kurwadkar – Professor, California State University – Fullerton
  • Sarah Corey-Rivas – PI SomosSTEM Program/ Associate Professor, New Mexico Highlands University
  • Gabriela Solis-Cavazos – Undergraduate Research Coordinator, Laredo College
  • Zaira Mateo – Director Scientific Research Center/ Faculty Biomedical Sciences, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico
  • Pamela Byrd-Williams – Professor of Biology, Los Angeles Valley College
  • David Quintero – Assistant Professor, San Francisco State University
  • Wenshen Pong – Professor, San Francisco State University
  • Walter Den – Professor, Texas A&M University – San Antonio
  • Erron Gonzalez M.S. – Academic Program Director – STEM, Palo Alto College
  • Angela Frey – STEM Chair, Alverno College
  • Rashida David – Grant Director, Union County College
  • Waleska Sanabria Leon – Chair Social Science and History Department, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico
  • Celia Jenkins – Director of Grants Management, Cochise College
  • Chantale Damas – Associate Professor of Physics, Queensborough Community College
  • Frances Vega – Executive Director – AMBE Academy, Inc. 501(c)(3)
  • Victor Burgos – Chief Learning Officer, AMBE Academy, Inc. 501(c)(3)
  • Hui Cai – Assistant Professor, University of California – Merced
  • Ji Kim – Assistant Professor, Guttman Community College – CUNY